South West Trains Reviews

South West Trains Reviews and experiences from Topcashback members who have shopped with South West Trains. South West Trains feedback is supplied only by members of Topcashback
Read More
99.8%
Satisfied with this merchant
Based on over 20,000 completed transactions
Please Sign in to leave a South West Trains review
Order By:
 
members icon
Richard_Thomas - 18 Feb 2014
Rating: 5 stars

Cashback tracked with no problem.

 
members icon
mana - 13 Dec 2012
Rating: 5 stars

Great site - helps you so much.

 
members icon
Thad - 13 Dec 2011
Rating: 5 stars

Went through an absolute treat!

 
members icon
kezbabybabe - 07 Dec 2011
Rating: 5 stars

I purchase train tickets frequently, so I spent some time investigating which retailer was the best cashback-value for money and south west trains came out on top. They also do not charge a booking fee or for the postage of the tickets.

 
members icon
JamboAde - 18 Oct 2011
Rating: 5 stars

Decent offer as there are no booking fees - quick to track

 
members icon
AntiPod - 17 Oct 2011
Rating: 5 stars

Best type value for money experiance. Always tracked well. Best payout % comparing to other train ticket websites.

 
members icon
quigger - 27 Sep 2011
Rating: 5 stars

Fast tracking.

 
members icon
pkbb - 27 Sep 2011
Rating: 5 stars

Very good, quick service and delivery of tickets.

 
members icon
samellers - 01 Sep 2011
Rating: 5 stars

Great no problems

 
members icon
drac321 - 31 Aug 2011
Rating: 5 stars

Bought train tickets on 09/06/11. Tracked quickly. And the cash back arrived today. Impressed.

 
members icon
LucyRobs - 13 Aug 2011
Rating: 5 stars

Cashback prompt into account

 
members icon
skibuddy - 12 Jul 2011
Rating: 5 stars

Great tracked and became payable quickly.

 
members icon
Shaunytopdog - 03 Jan 2013
Rating: 4 stars

Cashback paid quickly and tickets sent free next day.

 
members icon
Sid_the_Cat - 10 Apr 2012
Rating: 4 stars

I used to get cashback even when not travelling on sw trains. However, it appears that this is not available now - shame but not too surprised as no other companies do this.

 
members icon
cunnic - 19 Jan 2012
Rating: 4 stars

Everything has been 5 star with this merchant up until october 2011. I buy train tickets at least once every month, sometimes 2 or 3 times, and the tracking and cashback were fine. However, from october, I am missing 3 cashback claims from sw trains and I have raised 3 complaint tickets. I have just received a response from top cashback for one of my complaints but the post a message button is not working and I need to reply urgently, so an excellent service is slipping very quickly down the scale to pretty unreliable i'm afraid.

 
members icon
leslie20 - 01 Jan 2012
Rating: 4 stars

Ticket ordered on the internet and collected at the ticket machine. The only problem is that I could not find the specific times of off peak tickets on returning from london and after calling customer service I am still not sure of the off peak times.

 
members icon
dgreenhouse - 07 Oct 2011
Rating: 4 stars

Always tracks, but rate isn't as good as southern railways for the sort of tickets I normally buy.

 
members icon
jazzyfresh88 - 22 Aug 2011
Rating: 4 stars

Transaction tracked on the day of purchase and cashback was confirmed 48 days later. Depending on the ticket and journeys booked i'd say south west trains is a decent second option - there are no booking fees (unlike raileasy/trainline/mytrainticket) to worry about.

 
members icon
Serene_Tan - 26 Feb 2012
Rating: 3 stars

I've recently bought a few tickets and none of the cashback has been tracked and I had to put in 5 missing claims. Topcashback is now waiting for southwest train's feedback and hopefully I get my cashback approved soon and that they will be tracking my next purchase!

 
members icon
ntaylor - 21 Feb 2012
Rating: 3 stars

All three of my latest purchases through south west trains have failed to track. From reading other recent reviews it seems there is an issue with tracking at the moment - so why is this merchant still on topcashback if I can't get any cashback?! to be fair, I have not yet submitted a missing cashback claim. The service on the south west trains website itself is excellent too.

 
members icon
iain001 - 17 Jan 2012
Rating: 3 stars

South west trains cashback was tracking fine until mid december, when it seems to have stopped working. Have tried on both tcb and quido, and neither is now tracking. Have to wait and see what resolution of tracking tickets is.

 
members icon
DavidR - 30 Aug 2013
Rating: 2 stars

A dishonest merchant! they used to offer cashback on all on-line ticket purchases, although it often took a year or more for this to track. Now they only offer cashback for tickets on trains they operate themselves, but this change is buried deep in the small print. Other operators (such as trans-pennine) show clearly that their cashback is only offered on their own services, but southwest trains are deceptive.

 
members icon
cashbackjss52 - 14 Jun 2013
Rating: 2 stars

Had to nudge on 3 separate occasions, but no payout due to "journeys not on swt routes." I think this occurs because the payout journey must only use a swt route, and cannot use another train operator, even if the journey includes part of a swt route. I have done this on several journeys, and each time the payout was declined. I think this condition should be made clearer, as passengers may be attracted by the high payout %.

 
members icon
hurstpeter - 25 Mar 2013
Rating: 2 stars

Tried this merchant several times and no transaction has ever tracked properly at their end. They take 9 months to sort it out and pay, and their customer services claim to have no responsibility at all. Dreadful organisation.

 
members icon
Danmagnet - 19 Mar 2013
Rating: 2 stars

Didn't track, lodged a claim but after almost a year I was informed that it didn't qualify as it "wasn't on a south west route". Considering all the other train companies on here (virgin being a highlight) will pay cashback on whatever route you purchase tickets for I think this is a bit of a joke. Avoid like the plague and buy through one of the many other companies available on here.

 
members icon
boac - 26 Feb 2013
Rating: 2 stars

Very unreliable at making cashback payments. Don't bother.

 
members icon
kbovell - 15 May 2012
Rating: 2 stars

Unfortuneately the last seven urchases from this merchant, dating back to early april have failed to track, and have consequently had to lodge missing claims each time. Which can be time consuming. Not liklely to use this merchant again, and will now use merchants that offer less cashback, albeit track claims more reliably and consistantly

 
members icon
AlanW - 15 Feb 2012
Rating: 2 stars

All went well at first. Transactions tracked quickly. Got payments reasonably quickly. Then: payments are overdue, last 5 purchases haven't tracked. I suggest using another retailer even though they offer less cashback you are more likely to get it.

 
members icon
cridlin - 02 Feb 2012
Rating: 2 stars

Last couple transactions are no longer tracking - avoid

 
members icon
hurstpeter - 16 Jan 2012
Rating: 2 stars

Repeatedly the transactions fail to track although I have absolutely no problems with any other retailers and south west trains take forever to deal with untracked claims.

 
members icon
RobDickson - 15 Nov 2011
Rating: 2 stars

The highest cashback now that southern railway has stopped offering cashback, but it rarely tracks automatically and takes ages to pay.

 
members icon
wardk1 - 26 Feb 2014
Rating: 1 star

Avoid at all costs. 2 Purchases, neither of them tracked and topcashback unable to do anything about it. Seems like a common experience with this merchant.

 
members icon
buzzard1994 - 29 Jan 2014
Rating: 1 star

This company regularly declines cashback for journeys within its network and operated by itself. You are unlikely to ever receive your cashback

 
members icon
JamboAde - 09 Jan 2014
Rating: 1 star

They changed the rules so you only get cashback on swt routes - suggest you use another provider who provide cashback on all routes unless you know you are on one of their trains

 
members icon
bhavesh1986 - 21 Nov 2013
Rating: 1 star

Doesn't track

 
members icon
mumu2222 - 03 Aug 2013
Rating: 1 star

Its a waste of time and what I would say is a con. Read the reviews in date order and you can see why. My purchase at end of december result in no cashback. No reason whatsoever is given either. In addition to the completely unreliable south west train service, this no cashback is another evidence that it's a company you just cannot trust. What a waste of my time liaising with tcb, and writing feedback.

 

You may also like:

thetrainline
thetrainline cashback can be earned by simply ordering you rail tickets trough thetrainline. thetrainline helps you buy cheaper tickets by...
Red Spotted Hanky
We realise that travel is done for a reason - not many people in the world use trains, planes and automobiles just for the sake of travelling, and we
National Express
National Express cashback can be earned on all bookings through the National Express website. Look out for National Express voucher codes too...
East Midlands Trains
East Midlands Trains run fast, frequent train services to London St Pancras International from stations along the M1 corridor, including Sheffield...