Hastings Direct Car Insurance Reviews

Please sign in to leave a Hastings Direct Car Insurance reviewX
Reviews and experiences from Topcashback members who have shopped with Hastings Direct Car Insurance. Hastings Direct Car Insurance feedback is supplied only by members of Topcashback Review this merchant
99.32%
Satisfied with this merchant
Based on over 20,000 completed transactions | Full details & FAQ's
Hastings Direct Car Insurance Reviews
Very slow to pay out
  ceh | 04 Feb 2011 Report Abuse
Very very slow still waiting for cashback 6 months and has already exceeded payment date wont be using again
  JDahbi | 02 Feb 2011 Report Abuse
Took out a policy in july 2010, and still waiting for cashback. Sent through a claim, but all it states is waiting for retailer. Be aware you probably won't get they cashback advertised.
  a1tone | 19 Jan 2011 Report Abuse
Good price for car insurance, decent cashback and tracked quickly - but beware if you want to make any changes to the policy! 0844 number (rip off), a £35 amendment fee (completely non-negotiable!) and indifferent staff. If you are completely sure that your circumstances will not change, then go for it - you'll probably get a pretty good deal. For me, with over 33 years driving free of bans, serious accidents or claims, I expect a bit more respect and not to be treated as an easy way to make a quick £35 (wiping out all of the cashback and more). I will definitely never use them again, even if they are the least expensive when the policy ends (it's another £55 if you want to cancel before)!
  fewbob | 21 Dec 2010 Report Abuse
I attempted to get cash back from hastings direct and purchased a reasonably competative policy but they failed to track the cashback even though I sent my policy details to them and it had registed that I had been to the site on the day of purchase. Top cash back were helpful but i've given up in the end. I've changed home address since april and found hastings direct customer services very poor and unprofessional, they sent me the wrong information through the post and the staff don't seem to know whats going on.
  playton | 25 Nov 2010 Report Abuse
When the policy arrived it was not what was expected. To cancel would cost £25, which I suspect is illegal under distance selling regulations, to put it right would cost £10 extra. Not a very good start & will be giving this insurance provider a wide birth when the policy comes up for renewal.
  andreti | 18 Nov 2010 Report Abuse
I would definatley not use this company again I have finally recived a refund for monies take from my credit card without my prior knowledge or consent !as for getting the cashback , all I can say is doubt full!
  robintumble | 12 Nov 2010 Report Abuse
Do hastings direct know what there doing , I don't think so. Numerous phone calls with 30min+ waitting, and a four week trial to gain my documents. I am just hoping they have repaid to my account the £237.00 They messed up on, taking two payments. Lets see if my m.O.T bit, and cash back pay up. No I wont use them again. No complaints with topcashback, always excellent service thanks.
  Grinch | 10 Oct 2010 Report Abuse
Further to the comments I made below, I contacted the watchdog via email. I rec'd a reply very quickly, I then attached that email and sent it to hastings and topcashback for their information. I rec'd a letter 2 days later from hastings saying they were looking into it, a further 2 days later I rec'd a phone call from hastings saying they would put a cheque in the post to cover the £60 cashback which, I s what it was when I took out the policy. This will take 7-14 days to come, still waiting after 7 days but I would encourage others who have problems to contact the watchdog/ombudsmen and include their email to hastings. ........................................................................................................................... Avoid at all costs. Whilst the quotes may seem very competitive when you take into account cashback they will not pay!!! I took out car insurance in feb and I have just been told they will not pay me the cashback of £60 which was on offer at the time! their excuse was that a 3rd part was involved. I will be looking at contacting the watchdog over this issue, I would encourage others who have had similar experience in being refused their cashback to do the same. Lee lee221 - 11/08/2010 07:41:00
  lee221 | 02 Oct 2010 Report Abuse
Appauling customer service , if my cashback isnt payed out this will probbabbly be the most exspansive insurance policy ive ever had! be warned hastings direct dont do what it says on the tin !!!!!!!!!!!!
  robintumble | 28 Sep 2010 Report Abuse
Tracked fine, but I took it out the day before they raised the cashback amount, gutted. Didn't get the same trouble as others had. Yeah you have to pay if you change stuff on your policy, but if you do it right the first time there's no need to change anything.
  balf118 | 19 Sep 2010 Report Abuse
Should have received cashback 6 months after taking out the policy but i'm still waiting. Can't get a more definitive answer from top cashback just the automated "we are aware of a delay paying cashback from this mercant.
  Mrsschoie | 14 Sep 2010 Report Abuse
Policy taken out in march and still waiting for £58 cashback. Top cashback give me the "we are experiencing delays with this merchant..." Response and when I finally got though to someone at hastings they said the money goes to top cashback the minute the policy is bought, so they have it (which I don't believe for a second) and it is up to me to get it from them. All in all, the £58 when I get it will be good, but the service at hastings direct is awful.
  rupes | 06 Sep 2010 Report Abuse
Bought car insurance in decemeber 09 and just got paid out in september 10 so not exactly fast! (9 months not the 4 promised) I found it a real pain to continually check if cashback was available and would have prefered a faster payment. Email enquiries were dealt with a standard 'we are experiencing problems with this merchant' which was rather unhelpful and uninformative. However the cashback did arrive in the end (£55) so would recommend if you're prepared to be patient.
  harryr | 02 Sep 2010 Report Abuse
Well ive just spent 2o mins on hold listening to some awful music... Thankfully was on hold so long even the music ran out !! whilst waiting for customer services , I just gave up . I guess snail mail recorded delivery the best way to get to talk to these people .Situation is still unresolved especially if you cant even talk to anyone!! if by chance would like to contact me please feel free!!!!!!!!
  robintumble | 02 Sep 2010 Report Abuse
I purchased car insurance online , no probs cashback tracked shortly , suddenly I get a letter saying there needed to be an adjust to policy only an extra £48.00+ With admin fees extra, the day I recived letter was 10 days after they had taken extra from my card without authorisation ! I was fuming , now they admit they shouldnt have taken it at all !!! let alone the £35 admin fee, I had same expereience last year . It used to be a good insurance company a few years ago whats gone wrong guys ????? I prob wont be renewing again with this company next year !
  robintumble | 01 Sep 2010 Report Abuse
Good product but the cashback is a joke. My husband purchased this in february and is still waiting for the money - it took months to confirm and now the payable date keeps moving back by one month every time it's nearly reached time for them to hand over the money. I purchased it in june and it has tracked as £0.00. Having opened an enquiry about this, it is now apparently waiting for the retailer to respond - and has been for about six weeks now! the insurance is relatively low cost and (unlike some companies) repairs to windows are free with comprehensive insurance - i've been caught out by that before. But if the cashback is the deciding factor in you buying this policy, forget it.
  Imzadi_chester | 20 Aug 2010 Report Abuse
I took out a policy last november 2009 and am still waiting cashback will not use this retailer again as it is now mid august 2010 . I will be renewing my policy before I get cashback at this rate. They tracked fast and confirmed after 4 months but never paid after that so beware of them even though they generally have a good record this example is very poor and does not encourage you to go back to them
  12422087713 | 12 Aug 2010 Report Abuse
Avoid at all costs. Whilst the quotes may seem very competitive when you take into account cashback they will not pay!!! i took out car insurance in feb and I have just been told they will not pay me the cashback of £60 which was on offer at the time! their excuse was that a 3rd part was involved. I will be looking at contacting the watchdog over this issue, I would encourage others who have had similar experience in being refused their cashback to do the same. Lee
  lee221 | 11 Aug 2010 Report Abuse
Awful service, impossible to speak to anyone, if you have to make any changes at all the amounts they charge completely dwarf the cashback. Avoid at all costs
  alexhird | 05 Aug 2010 Report Abuse
I purchased this car insurance on 17/06/10 with the offer of a half price mot voucher. I enquired 2 weeks later when I should receive the voucher as my mot was due in the middle of aug and I wanted to book my vehicle in with their authorised company (nationwide) due to them being busy and the company is a 55 mile round trip for me (the only branch in suffolk). I was informed that I would have to wait 28 days after the policy has been taken. I contacted them again having not received the voucher (40 days later) and was informed that I would have to wait 60 days. I explained that this took me past the mot date and when I had checked their website it stipulated an up to 40 day wait. The customer services was off hand and 'so what' attitude when I explained the full problem. I finally got them to agree to email me the voucher, to find that the mot at nationwide is £55 (with the mileage on top) and my local garage does the same mot for £40, so a no brainer really. Therefore this voucher is not worth the paper its written on unless you live within 5 minutes of a nationwide garage. A bit of a con really as an offer for the purchase.
  Bartles | 26 Jul 2010 Report Abuse
I would not recommend using hastings car insurance. When I decided to go with them the cashback was appealing and also the £30 free fuel voucher. It took nearly 7mths to receive the cashback! the £30 free fuel voucher is not what it seems, they send you three vouchers that you have to fill in and send a valid receipt for £10 fuel (1 each month) and then after 3 months you send them back and they should send you a cheque......But they dont because they wriggle out of it by saying it has to be a vat receipt and they refuse to then send any more vouchers........Total rip off!!!!!
  macker16 | 19 Jul 2010 Report Abuse
Avoid these people. I took out my car insurance with hastings and was offered £60 cashback which was the deal at the time, the policy was taken out in feb and after chasing the cashback through this site I decided I had had enough and contacted hasting direct. They are refusing to pay the cashback and are claiming I brought the policy via confused . Com which is absolute rubbish!. Have informed them I will be taking this further and I am awaiting a response from them. Be warned!!!
  lee221 | 17 Jul 2010 Report Abuse
Very slow to pay but has tracked ok. Just waiting for the money to be payable.
  Imzadi_chester | 12 May 2010 Report Abuse
Took 7 months to get my cashback!
  clo104 | 02 Mar 2015 Report Abuse
1...678910...18      View:   25 50 100

You may also like:

Aviva Car Insurance
5 Star car insurance from £185 – 10% paid this for standard cover* You could save up to 20% online - 16% of customers are expected to receive...
Confused.com Car Insurance
FREE BRIAN toy when you buy car insurance from Confused.com. Quickly and easily compare quotes from up to 130 car insurance providers…
Churchill Insurance
Shop for car insurance and travel insurance at Churchill. Buy pet and life insurance, home and van insurance and breakdown cover and earn cashback.
Hastings Direct Car Insurance
Our competitively priced 5-Star Defaqto rated insurance was voted by the public in 2013 and 2014 as Consumer Moneyfacts Car Insurance Provider of...