Equifax Reviews

Please sign in to leave a Equifax reviewX
Reviews and experiences from Topcashback members who have shopped with Equifax. Equifax feedback is supplied only by members of Topcashback Review this merchant
99.62%
Satisfied with this merchant
Based on over 53,000 completed transactions | Full details & FAQ's
Equifax Reviews
I applied for a free credit report, as £5 cashback was very appealing. It took ages for their system to recognise my address, and then I was asked to phone to confirm some more details. After 10 minutes on the phone (at 45p a min) they then asked me to send my driving licence and passport. At this point, as I had nearly spent the cashback already I decided not to go ahead. So now am down £4.50, Not the best experience for a topcashback newbie
  bertie1606 | 18 Mar 2013 Report Abuse
Joined 25/01/13, didn't track. I read somewhere that it can take up to 21 days to be eligible so I let it run for a while. Cancelled 22/2/13 as coming to end of free month. Unable to put in claim because it has been cancelled. Was worth it in one sense because there was an incorrect entry against my name. However, customer services took over a week to respond to a query. On a plus side, easy to cancel and no pressure to stay.
  swerved | 05 Mar 2013 Report Abuse
Do not touch this with a barge pole. I just signed up last night, go to see my credit report. Fair enough. Tried logging on today. Wouldnt let me log on. It said I had to phone a number, took 10 mins to get through. Could hardly understand the girl talking, she was asking me crazy security questions then said I had to provide two forms of identity to verify my account. When she said the first was my passport, I hit a gasket. I told her there was not a hope in hell I would be forwarding that and she said they could not procede. I am away to contact my bank and discuss blocking any attempts for them to access my account. Oh and I asked where they are based (seeing as I could hardly understand her) and she replied 'the philippines', errr it's all a bit dodgy to me.
  zengs1 | 22 Feb 2013 Report Abuse
Got most of the way through the credit report signup only to have the credit card verification fail at which point I was told to call a local rate number to complete my transaction. Tried this and after 7(?!!) phone menus and being on hold for nearly 10 mins I gave up. Do you really think this is a good way to do business?! surely you should be doing everything possible to help people signup, not be putting up these kind of barriers? i'll be sticking to creditexpert in the future.
  ianchadwick | 27 Jan 2013 Report Abuse
Poor service - just a complete nightmare to deal with. Be warned that it'll cost you money and time before you see any cashback.
  Bonnycashback | 26 Jan 2013 Report Abuse
Absolute joke, do not waste your time! couldn't complete my sign up online, had to ring up and then they asked me questions i'd already filled out online, they also wanted me to send a copy of my passport and bank statements. No chance! so gave up in the end. Bit sceptical about it all, seems like a bit of a con. Got no cashback and the phone call cost me! didn't even get my report. Not impressed
  richy_royals | 25 Jan 2013 Report Abuse
Awful!! apparently you have to have all you financial history available when your online application fails (tried twice)they have an american call centre who you can't understand and end up being asked to post documents. Not worth the hassle, went to credit expert, went through straight away had report in minutes!
  helen4474 | 20 Jan 2013 Report Abuse
Waited about 6 months to have it rejected, filed a claim and also had that rejected. First time this has happened and i've used tcb for years now.
  scott72555 | 02 Jan 2013 Report Abuse
Got charged £1 on my card for a free trial. Not very happy and tcb didn't track... Didn't even phone to confirm account when the number is full rate. Rather disappointed. :( Can't understand it when so many people say it is good.
  RandomPeopleDancin | 27 Nov 2012 Report Abuse
Very suspicious website. Says that the card information didn't work (i use this card all the time no reason for it not to) furthermore they ask that I scan in a utility bill and passport to verify my account. This has nothing to do with my card and they haven't even asked for my card details again. Also to do this I had to sign up to another website for the same company but with a different style of web design. It all felt extremely insecure to be sending very important documents over. I rang to cancel but was told they didn't have my full details so they assure me I wont be charged I am very sceptical about this and concerned now that I may be charged anyway.
  fagan89 | 21 Nov 2012 Report Abuse
Horrible experience like many on here. Feel like ive been duped and was stupid enough to read the comments after having applied. Afraid now that money will be taken from my account at the end of the 30 day period. Have called twice and keep getting the same script. Please dont be fooled by the 94% high rating that is given. I wish i'd never joined. Now this dodgy company have my details. Stay away and avoid like the plague.
  SandyL | 19 Oct 2012 Report Abuse
Showed paid as nil, done everything by the book as always, have submitted a claim.
  scott72555 | 05 Oct 2012 Report Abuse
Sounds like I was just unlucky but it took 3 attempts to get their site to work without it timing out. When it finally did it gave me a number that I had to call (5p per min) then sit on hold to finally be connected just to be told that due to a system update there were no online or over-the-phone registrations available today. It would have been a better idea to have taken the application system offline altogether during the update rather than wasting people's time and money.
  garethebbern | 01 Oct 2012 Report Abuse
Utter rubbish! signed up online for a free 30 day credit report trial. After putting in all my personal details and credit card details I was asked to ring an 0844 number to activate my account. After 20 minutes on hold I got to speak to someone who I could barely understand and was told I would have to apply again on the telephone. Since my account was not activated online I couldn't claim cashback or apply again and the report was useless. Now I feel my personal details have just collected and even more suspecitable to identify fraud and spam.
  neverwinter | 09 Aug 2012 Report Abuse
After submitting a missing cashback claim for this merchant, I had to wait for 2 years for a resolution. Of course, as with an apparently increasing number of merchants advertising on tcb, it was then declined without reason (or justification). The credit report itself is worthwhile but don't rely on this dishonest company to honour their cashback offers.
  Gazzaaaa | 30 Jul 2012 Report Abuse
Just signed up for one of their watch lite service and at the end of the purchase they have the gall to say i, yes i, must call them on an 0844 number at 5p per minute for 'further questions'. If they want my business they should be calling me or at the very least provide a freephone number. What a cheek these organisations have. Ive a good mind not to call and see how much they want new business. Dont forget you dont have to subscribe to their pricey subscriptions and get locked in for a period of time. You can easily get a statutory report for £2 and request it as many times as you wish. They dont like it because it costs them far more to provide it than the fixed £2
  bersama | 29 Jun 2012 Report Abuse
Hopeless equinox wanted me to tel them about all my credit cards when I joined my bank... Sure thats what I pay for , for them to give me the infomation , they keep you on the phone for as long aas possible and it costs you to call them... Waste of time
  smiggylad | 27 Jun 2012 Report Abuse
What a joke. They were unable to verify my account, which I found out at my expense through having to phone them to be asked questions regarding what credit accounts I have taken out in the last 6 years and the date including month. I understand security issues but this was ridiculous, and the guy on the phone was rude.
  Kthindmarsh | 17 May 2012 Report Abuse
Cashback tracked, then went to zero. Put in a claim, topcashback kept me up to date all the way through, but merchant rejected cashback claim saying I didn't qualify. Now using experian!
  markbarnett23 | 07 May 2012 Report Abuse
Avoid like the plague!!! they charged me £6.99 For the "free" trial, and I never received any promised cashback. After being on hold for over an hour, I finally got through to someone who didn't speak much english, and just kep repeating some set phrases which didn't help at all. If you need to phone them, I hunted out a free number... 0800 0665825 I'm furious with them!!!
  BigHairyKev | 24 Apr 2012 Report Abuse
What a rubbish company. No obvious way to cancel the free trial other than ring up and spend probably the same amount of money on an 0845 number. The 'free' report was rubbish. Didn't give you a score unless you paid for it... Not useful. And I still haven't received my cash back... Despite doing in it the beginning of february! don't go anywhere near this stupid company, it's a waste of time.
  Charlician | 11 Apr 2012 Report Abuse
My cashback was stopped even though I had the trial for nerly a month. It states I havent met the reccomendations after being tracked for 8 weeks, avoid like the plague its a con.. Avoid!!!!
  jjmcc25 | 04 Apr 2012 Report Abuse
My cashback was stopped even though I had the trial for nerly a month. It states I havent met the reccomendations after being tracked for 8 weeks, avoid like the plague its a con.. Avoid!!!!
  jjmcc25 | 04 Apr 2012 Report Abuse
Signed up for free cashback, and to have a peek at my credit score. Transaction hasn't tracked and equifax offer no information free of charge. I also tried to cancel which has to be done by phone, spent 5 minutes in a queue to be told they couldn't do it at this time.
  11295140035 | 24 Mar 2012 Report Abuse
No cashback!!!
  BigHairyKev | 20 Mar 2012 Report Abuse
This is the second time I have tried to get a credit report from equifax. Both times, they have conveniently had a technical problem during my application, which meant I would have to ring their 0845 number...... No thanks, you money-grabbers! i'll stick to just being skint, rather than skint and hacked off with being sat in a queue paying silly money for nothing.
  Tigersfandownsouth | 16 Feb 2012 Report Abuse
Did not track. I had to raise a claim. As for customer service, you'd be kept online waiting for several hours. But they have a free phone number.
  17nov2011 | 04 Feb 2012 Report Abuse
Didn't track and no response from topcashback after raising a missing claim - disappointing.
  Ravey_Davey | 26 Jan 2012 Report Abuse
Strange, not tracked at all. After filling out details, then asked me to ring and give more details which I did, then said they would send me an e-mail link... Again which hasnt happened... Very dubious and now very concerned...Watch this space
  Happychap | 24 Jan 2012 Report Abuse
I tried to check my credit score with this company and had to fill out a lot of on-line forms to then be given a reference number that I need to quote when I phone them (5p/minute and a very long time on hold!) which was very frustrating. Once I eventually got through a women that was as much use as a chocolate tea pot was all I had to help me to complete the registration of my account. As she was thicker then a whale omelette and did not understand what was coming out of her own mouth I decided to not go through with the registration as the company is extremely unprofessional and caused me a very frustrating evening. Avoid like the plague I cannot stress enough!!!
  danielturner740 | 18 Jan 2012 Report Abuse
Equifax wants ur id and lot of questions to open the account. Doont waste time use experian as its easy, hassle free to open as well as cancel account
  Honesty | 23 Dec 2011 Report Abuse
So much hassle trying to register for free trial-filled in boxes,then have to call them to complete process(0844 number)when I eventually got to speak to someone they went through all info already submitted,then said I had to send copy of passport and utility bill to them to complete registeration.....Alot of hassle-did everyone else have to do all this???
  cazsilver | 21 Dec 2011 Report Abuse
Had to put a claim in and despite having order number and proof they still refused to pay out cashback. Total con, have cancelled my account with this company there are far better and more honest credit information companies!
  sueaitch | 04 Nov 2011 Report Abuse
Ha so ok I signed up online here for a instant online credit report ...Instan and online!! it was also a free 30 day cash back trial. I spend time filling everything in and then get a page telling me to call a number..5P from a landline, I dont have a landline so use my mobile, sit on automated options and finally when through am being charged to get asked a heap of questions then get told I need to post off some documents....So how was any of that free...Instant..Online.....I just paid about £5 for nothing other than to feel like and be jooped!!!!!!
  summer1234 | 20 Oct 2011 Report Abuse
Poor experience. Phoned number at end of on line application and asked a bewildering array of personal financial questions and to send driving licence and utility bills to them ! not in this day and age of electronic applications, I will go elsehwhere.
  Member52082235818 | 20 Oct 2011 Report Abuse
Didn't get cashback, struggled to cancel after the trial (you have to ring) they keep chasing me too. Don't bother.
  edthedog | 19 Oct 2011 Report Abuse
Found it extremely time consuming & difficult to cancel the service.
  TrueMisterSix | 17 Oct 2011 Report Abuse
Awful you must call their customer service number to confim @ 5p / min, took over 5 mins to get through the inapropriate options and speak to someone with poor grasp of english. After answering the security questions I was told because I had no loans or mortgages in the last 6 years I had to send them a utility bill or bank statement - no chance!!!! when they have my debit card number, which would not authorise unless I had the correct name and adress, to then ask me to send my personal property to them is a joke.
  fras3r | 14 Sep 2011 Report Abuse
The equifax service is dreadful. It is so un user friendly it is untrue. Its almost impossible to ask them a question and the log in page frequently does not take your password and you have to keep changing it. This is the worst online product I have used. Credit expert is more epensive but so much better to use. I am trying to cancel it but they make it difficult to cancel with equifax
  anonmattyt | 10 Aug 2011 Report Abuse
Took an incredible amount of time to track. Poor product, poor value, poor customer service. I would not advise anyone to bother with this.
  nat101 | 07 Jul 2011 Report Abuse
It's now almost 10 months since I took the trial. Still no cashback or response from equifax. Product is mildly interesting to read but certainly not worth paying anything to get. Plus they keep pestering you to upgrade or take other products. Not worth the bother - avoid.
  DurhamNick | 08 Jun 2011 Report Abuse
Oh my! after signing up to do a free 30 day trial online- I tried to log in but as it had not been set up /gone through it would not let me access my report, it then went through to the verification questions- believe me this is ridiculous there was about 15! I know security is key here but seriously can any of you remember what your balance on a statement back in 2009 was?!??? anyway it said I had to call the helpline to reset a password, which I did. 5 Attempts later (after sitting on hold for 10 minutes at a time)i finally got through to a lady who wanted to know everything and every single account, credit card and loan I ever had! I understand there is a verification process but really again with the repetitive questions?? I started thinking this was not a legi company with the amount of info they needed and with the weird questions thwy asked. I had a 15 minute long conversation with someone whom english is not a first language so has difficulty in actually knowing you have answered questions bu asking the same question time and time again..... Seriously what a shambles! the girl was only doing her job but having to answer what is your current balance then what was your balance in may then again what is your current balance then again what is your balance in may again and again is not great! I realised she didn't really understand when I asked which do you want the april balance or may balance and she replied "yes"....... Do not waste your time, I didn't even get to see my report at all!!! I promptly cancelled (got her name as think this is the type of company that will charge even though they couldn't verify me). Really do not think this is best move for top cashback!! not recommended.
  missdevi | 06 Jun 2011 Report Abuse
Bullsssshit avoid avoid avoid avoid avoid avoid avoid avoid dont waste your time.
  neckome | 28 May 2011 Report Abuse
Truly dreadfull - every excuse under the son since january 2011 and still waiting for the cash - avoid.
  Polomints | 22 May 2011 Report Abuse
I took out the offer thro' cash back and the free trial report tells you nothing, if you want anything useful you have to pay(no surprise really). But what incences me is I have had to write to the company twice and my bank once to cancel membership and stop them using my credit card details(which they require to get the free trial) and I have still not had the courtesy of even an acknowledgement. Would seriously suggest your subscribers think carefully before giving over any personal details to this mob.
  imspartacus | 14 May 2011 Report Abuse
Never received the cashback. They never responded to any of the queries from tcb. I wouldn't bother.
  Jessb247 | 13 May 2011 Report Abuse
Cashback was payable 31/3/11 but this has not happened yet.
  snottsgirl | 21 Apr 2011 Report Abuse
This seemed easy enough and tracked within a day or two, but when my 30 days free trial was up there was no way to contact equifax to cancel it, so I had to root around on google to find a telephone number to call them. They cancelled it ok but they have given me 12 month subscription to another service free of charge which will no doubt start charging when the 12 months is up so beware. As for the cashback, well it confirmed in average time, but as yet it a month later to pay out - would I use equifax again? I didn't like the way you couldn't contact them by phone and I don't like unreliable payers on cashback so the answer is "no".
  Jennypha | 19 Apr 2011 Report Abuse
Terrible terrible terrible. Didn't track. Claim took ages. Cashback hasn't been paid over 40 days after the estimated payment date and about 4 months after it should have tracked. Steer clear
  originl | 18 Apr 2011 Report Abuse
Very very slow
  arogom | 15 Apr 2011 Report Abuse
1...678910...11      View:   25 50 100

Navigation

You may also like:

Experian-Credit Expert
Get your finances in order and improve your credit score with Experian-Credit Expert. Find deals to suit your credit rating and earn cashback rewards.
Equifax
Get a 30-day free trial at Equifax and gain access to your credit report and tips on understanding your credit score. Sign up and earn cashback.
checkmyfile
Get a 30-day free credit report at checkmyfile. They provide a multi-agency credit report. View your credit score and credit rating and earn cashback.